Introvert in London

My brain shocked me yesterday when it realised that not only did I enjoy spending the whole Easter weekend with people, I was actually looking forward to it. The first happens often, I enjoy spending time with my friends. The latter, however, is not that common. Before all you extroverts start to think what a selfish loser I am, please let me explain. I’m sure all my fellow introverts already understand.

I’m a classic example of an introvert, nothing special there. I would choose to spend an evening with my book instead of human company any time. I like spending time with only me and myself and I’m soon exhausted when I have to be in a large group of people. I have a handful of humans that have a very special place in my heart and whose company I enjoy a lot but even with them it is limited by a certain amount of time after which I have to reboot. Don’t worry, my friends know all this, I’m not breaking any hearts or bubbles here (I hope!). The only person I can be with 24/7 is my cousin but that doesn’t really count because she’s basically another me. We share half of the genes and like I said, I like spending time with myself.

6tag_140317-190645

Anyway, when I arrived in London several months ago, I had to literally force myself to be social and to make that handful of new friends here. What was the uni dream to many of the others was a nightmare for me (only a slight exaggeration there). I went to all the social events organized by the university even though I’d much rather stay home with pizza watching Big Bang Theory for the seventeenth time. Like I said in the beginning, I don’t usually look forward to these things. I go because I know that it will eventually be nice, probably, hopefully, but it always breaks my heart a bit to leave my cosy, comfortable bed behind, alone and sad.

That’s why it surprised me that last weekend, I was looking forward to all the things my friends organized, even when it was three days in a row and included people I didn’t know and evening activities. And here’s the theory my mesmerized brain came up with yesterday: I haven’t talked to a soul for the whole week beforehand, so I could invest all my social resources into those three days.

During the term, I had classes four days a week, went to various clubs and societies activities, met and talked to loads of people and so on, and it made me crave some alone time. Any time there was some other activity or event including lots of other people, I had to force myself a bit into it. But now, during the crazy long Easter holiday, I can easily go several days without talking to a person.

But it turned out, I actually want to! It’s just my limited social resources that are in the way. I can’t believe it took me years to realize this, but I might not be as unsocial as I always thought I was. Hurray, me! I mean, it doesn’t really change anything, does it. My social minutes will always be restricted to a certain amount per week but I can enjoy them more now.

 

You extroverts are probably thinking what the ef was this post about and all the introverts are like, duh, knew that, but hey, leave the comment anyway to let me know how you socialize in a new environment. Do you enjoy it? Or do you have to drag your butt out of your bed every time? And if so, any tips?

Leave a Reply

